Patient Reviews

Reviews for Shumway Cosmetic Surgery

Reviews for Dr. Robert Shumway

Whether you're looking for dramatic changes or subtle outcomes, our La Jolla, CA cosmetic surgeon, Dr. Robert A. Shumway, can help you achieve your desired results. With his valued team of experienced medical professionals at Shumway Cosmetic Surgery, Dr. Shumway offers surgeries and treatments of the body, breast, face, and skin for men and women of all ages. He is a cosmetic surgeon who truly cares for each of his patients, listens attentively, and provides you with excellent and realistic results. Who better to ask about their personal experience with Shumway Cosmetic Surgery than from former patients themselves? In this section, we have made their reviews and testimonials available to you. These real-life stories can verify that Dr. Shumway and his impressive medical staff all understand the importance of being professional, skilled, and compassionate in the world of surgical care. In his state-of-the-art facility with a surgical suite that is accredited by the Joint Commission, Dr. Shumway performs all of his outpatient surgeries. We also offer nonsurgical cosmetic treatments, such as BOTOX wrinkle relaxer injections, chemical peels, facials, and Coherent UltraPulse CO2 laser facial skin resurfacing. Take this opportunity to see what others are saying about their transformative experiences with private consultations, successful outcomes of procedures, staff, end results, and much more through these personal testimonials from our patients.

Filter138 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 06, 2019

I highly recommend coming to Dr. Shumway not only is he a great doctor but the front staff is amazing! I am always greeted with warm smiles. His staff & him self made me feel very comfortable when I first came in to get Dysport. I will never go anywhere else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 06, 2019

I highly recommend Dr shumway. I will recommend him and his staff to anyone. I got a BA in nov 17 and my results amazing I also got some Botox in my forehead. When I first went in I was so nervous but the dr shumway and his staff made me feel so comfortable More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 07, 2019

I had a facial last week with Heather, it was such a nice relaxing experience. Heather explained how all the products work and the benefits of using them consistently! Heather was very gentle and I highly recommend her! After I finish this review I am calling the office to schedule my next appointment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 10, 2019

Had a facial with Heather Shumway, by far amazing ! She's very knowledgeable about skincare .. my skin was feeling very dry and dull and was having some mild breakouts .. my skin feels and looks amazing!!! I will definitely be going back More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 28, 2018

I've been a patient here for many years and had several procedures.   Dr. Shumway is always caring and takes the time to answer all questions and concerns and the results are fantastic.  I visited several doctors before deciding on Dr. Shumway and am glad I made the decision to become a patient here. Follow up care and scheduling by the staff are top notch. They all truly care about the patient and go the extra mile to make sure you are well cared for.  When I developed breast cancer (I did not have any breast procedures here) and was down, they took the time to send me a card to lift my spirits. Not many doctors and staff would do that. I'm also very happy with Heather Shumway, please go and enjoy a facial with her.  Very relaxing and she provides great advice on your skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 09, 2018

They did a great job. Love everybody. I recommend them a 100%. They care about their patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 02, 2018

A Center of Excellence is no accident. Especially when headed by one of the Top Docs in Cosmetic Surgery on the West Coast. Besides his multiple Board Certifications he is a great Human being with genuine concern for his patients and has amazing bedside manners. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 02, 2018

A Center of Excellence is no accident. Especially when headed by one of the Top Docs in Cosmetic Surgery on the West Coast. Besides his multiple Board Certifications he is a great Human being with genuine concern for his patients and has amazing bedside manners. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 01, 2018

A great set up with awesome results guaranteed ! All the best... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 29, 2018

I had a Breast Augmentation done with Dr Shumway in December 2017. I had researched a lot of other physicians before scheduling my consultation at Shumway Cosmetic Surgery as far as reviews, prices and results and looked at many before and after pictures. I went to the consultation and met with Dr Shumway and his staff and I really am so lucky I did. After speaking with them and seeing how Dr Shumway took the time to answer all my questions I got a good feeling that he really care about how I was feeling. I knew he could tell I was a bit anxious because it is a big decision and offered more information than I had questions which helped a lot. Dr Shumway is very confident in his work and it shows when he is speaking with you. I felt so comfortable and so informed by the time I left the office that an hour later I called back to let them know I wanted to go ahead with scheduling the procedure and went ahead and paid up front. 2 weeks later I had the surgery done and was up and about the next day with minimal discomfort and I was just taking extra strength Tylenol for pain. I followed all the post op instructions his staff and Dr Shumway gave me and I healed exactly the way I was supposed to in the predicted time frame I was told. I received follow up phone calls from his amazing staff asking how I was doing or if I needed anything. I went to all my follow up appointments and everything was right on schedule. It was the best experience I have ever had and am so pleased. My procedure was absolutely perfect. My breast are amazingly even and look amazing and I have minimal scarring which have halfway disappeared since the surgery. Don't get me wrong I have had 4 children and breast fed each one so when I say he did an amazing job I am not kidding. I would definitely recommend him to anyone I know and have many times over. I am looking forward to scheduling my next procedure with his office knowing that I have nothing to worry about because I am in good hands. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 02, 2018

I had the best facial with Heather Shumway. I would highly recommend her and this office. Thank you, Laura More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 27, 2018

Absolutely the best surgeon and staff overall! I had my surgery on January 3rd 2018 and have received the best care. On the 3rd day I was walking around like I never had surgery!! ( and my belly button is beautiful) Dr Shumway is very thorough and such a great teacher! I travel from Texas and will continue to travel to see him and the staff!  Besides my wonderfully mommy makeover, my husband and I loved our facials from Heather! Thank you Dr shumway for taking great care of my scars!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 09, 2018

I had a really bad injury on my face in 2016. I was so insecure and uncomfortable the way my face looked after the damage! On top of that I had complications on the parotid gland (saliva duct) in the right side of my face. I saw 5 different plastic surgeons, keep in mind that 2 of them refused to work on my face because they didn't want to deal with the saliva gland. Then I found Doctor Shamway! He made me feel very comfortable and the most important thing HE GAVE ME A HOPE! Hope that I will have a normal face again! 2017 I had a few surgeries with Doctor Shamway!! He did an amazing job! On my face and my nose! My GOD! My face didn't look that good even before the injury! His assistants are sweet and so helpful ! Kathy was holding my hand when doctor was removing the stitches, it just made me smile! The care, the attention coming from those people will make you feel so welcomed! Doctor Shamway can do surgery on me any time!!! I trust him, could not wish for a better doctor! So knowledgeable and educated, and an amazing personality! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 09, 2018

My experience with Dr. Shumway and staff was incredible. They made me feel so comfortable and so happy with the decision I had made. The quality of work that is done is amazing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.O.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 23, 2018

From the first consultation to the last follow up,Dr.Shumway and his staff made me feel very comfortable and cared for. I was well informed about my procedure and all my questions were answered. I am so pleased with my results and my choice of a surgeon. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2018

I went to Shumway Cosmetics Surgery for a breast revision — I had gotten a breast augmentation 3 years prior with another plastic surgeon who convinced me to go larger than I was comfortable with. Dr. Shumway and his team are not only overwhelmingly professional and kind - they are also masters in their industry, they made me feel comfortable, spent countless hours with me helping me make the right decision for me! The surgery and recovery could not have gone smoother and Dr. Shumway and his team proactively prepared me for every step of the process. I LOVE THE OUTCOME. I’ve never felt more confident in my life! Dr. Shumway’s practice truly feels like a family and they are 110% patient-centered - they are absolutely fantastic. Do yourself a favor & call them today! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2018

Dr. Shumway and his staff are the most professional and kindhearted people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting here in San Diego. It is unusual to meet such people in this profession. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2018

Dr. Shumway is extremely professional and honest. With his calm demeanor and his super nice staff, they will go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and "at home" when in the office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2018

Wonderful staff, very professional Dr.Received excellent service. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 29, 2017

Dr SHUMWAY and  Staff are excellent team of professional!!!   I was breast cancer survivor and had to do couples breast reconstruction. Dr Shamway has been my primary head plastic surgeon for the last nine years. It is has been two years since  I have done last  Breast  successful reconstruction surgery!  I highly recommend Dr SHUMWAY  for all you need for cosmetic  plastics or medical reconstruction  surgeries. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 27, 2017

He got rid of the bump in my nose within 2 minutes using filler!  Everyone is the office is so sweet. 10/10 would recommend More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Fantastic experience, staff is very knowledgeable & Dr.Shumway is personable & friendly. I will return for more services More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway is the absolute best. My case has been very difficult and he has seen it through until the end!! He has so much integrity and I am thankful for him and his dedication to his patients More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I've been going to Dr. Shumway for approximately 17yrs. I underwent a "mini facelift" all those years back and have since continued with Dysport, Botox and fillers. Dr. Shumway is a top-notch plastic surgeon and human being. He is current and abreast of the new advances in his field and patients benefit with access to some of the latest and best surgical techniques and injectable fillers for soft tissue augmentation and wrinkle reduction. His staff including Mary and Kathy, are personable and make sure my needs and questions are addressed. I feel safe and relaxed in the care of Dr. Shumway and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway is an incredibly talented surgeon! I am extremely happy with the care I have received and the results of my cosmetic procedures. I always feel comfortable in the office, and his staff is very helpful and kind. I would suggest Dr. Shumway to anyone looking to enhance their appearance! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway and his team are amazing! I had a wonderful experience. They all truly care for their patients and I would highly recommend anyone to go there for their cosmetic needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I thought I was going to have to have a full breast reduction. Hi to my surprise I was able to have liposuction on my breasts! I didn’t even know that was an option. Well, I did it and couldn’t be happier with the results! Thank you Dr. Shumway More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Very informative, had a great experience. I recommend I will be back More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Heather was awesome! She took such great care of my skin. My facial was very relaxing. She explained to me what I need to make my skin better . I will definitely be back for another beauty treatment! Thank you Heather! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Excellent compassionate staff. I felt well taken care of by Dr. Shumway after my surgery. I will defiantly consult with Dr. Shumway for any future procedures. His office staff are professional and make their clients feel like a priority. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

My experience with Dr. Shumway was an A++. I was very very satisfied with Dr. Shumway and Staff communication. Over all my procedure of a tuba breast argumentation was excellent. I am very happy and satisfied with my surgery results, including pre-op and post-op care. I will definitely recommend this surgeon . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

He's great and Caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

This office is awesome! Everyone here is kind and respectful. You always feel like part of a part of this family. I’m 58 I’m often taken to be in my late 30’s early 40s. When I confide that I’ve had some work done people are always blown away. It’s a wonderful feeling to have that confidence everywhere you go when you know you look your best! Thank you Dr. Shumway and thank you to all your wonderful Staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway and his team are just the best! I am so happy with everything they have done for me!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

My experience has and always been very informative and satisfactory with Dr. Shumway and his staff. So no matter what procedure you're going to have or seek consultation on, you can rest assure that your needs or concerns will be professionally educational address. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I love Dr. Shumway and his staff. Everyone is so friendly and makes you feel extremely comfortable and at ease. I have never had bruising or pain during or after my botox injections or fillers. I personally have recommended my family and friends to go to Dr. Shumway. I also love how they are a family practice and involved in many community outreach programs to support local causes and events. Thumbs Up!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I love the staff! Everyone is so caring and kind. They really make you feel at ease and calm your nerves. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

already been very successful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Just wonderful More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Anyone interested in finding expert care related o skincare or improvements to their appearance can find it at the Shumway Institute. Trustworthy, professional, experienced and caring staff are the best- Don't want to go anywhere else! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway and his staff took great care of me, from the moment i walked in for my first consultation to the moment I left the operating room. They are professional but also very personable and helpful. I could call them and visit them at anytime after my surgery to ask questions and just make sure my recovery was on track. Dr. Shumway also did a great job with the cosmetic procedure I got- my fiance can attest to this! I would definitely recommend him to others and I would go back to his office in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr Shumay is great.. staff is friendly. Everyone is very knowledgeable about their products and services. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

This team is on point when it comes to support and attention to the client. I appreciate that each follow up appointment was at my convenience. They even washed my hair after removing my bandages a couple days after surgery. No other Doctor's office provides this service. All questions are answered immediately. I appreciate the care this team provides. They also furnished copies of my before photos. Keep providing this quality of service than we all appreciate. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr Shumway is excellent. I have never felt so comfortable in a doctors office and calm knowing I would get great results. The others in the office are also excellent, best nurses ever and so friendly. They made me feel at home each and every time I came in. I would recommend anyone to go see him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I cannot say enough positive things about Dr. Shumway and his lovely wife and daughter and the rest of the staff at Shumway Cosmetics. They have truly treated me like family. I have been seeing Dr. Shumway for many years now dating back to probably 2010 after going to several other consultations, some of which literally left me in tears. The only tears I cried after meeting with Mr. and Mrs. Shumway were tears of joy! Their office is located on the Scripps Hospital campus in La Jolla and easy to locate and access. The office is warm and inviting. Dr. Shumway has a wonderful bed-side manner and great energy. He is genuinely extremely compassionate, caring and ethical and has always gone above and beyond to make sure that I am happy and healthy. I also love that he offers Bio Identical Hormone Replacement Therapy at a very reasonable price. Shumway Cosmetics is a one stop shop for all of my cosmetic and anti-aging needs. Another thing I love and highly admire about Dr. Shumway is his tenacity and the fact that he is constantly furthering his education and offering the latest and greatest in his field. I would truly be lost without him. Meeting Dr. Shumway has been nothing short of a blessing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I have been going to Dr. Shumway for over fifteen years. He performed many procedures on me. Plastic surgery, fillers, Botox, etc.This is the best place to help any one, men and women to avoid aging.Dr. Shumway helps in many different ways.I recommended many friends to Dr. Shumway in the past and they are all happy.He has the best people working in his office, super polite and very nice people.This is the only place I will ever go for health and beauty.I feel and look twenty years younger.Photos upon request :):):):) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

The staff is so amazing! So polite and Dr. Shumway is great, very straight forward. Made me feel very comfortable. The overall care was fantastic! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.1.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Outstanding, consummate professional medical team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Warm friendly staff - Dr Shumway spent the time to explain the procedure which made me feel comfortable and I am extremely happy with my results! I will be going back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Great experience :) very nice staff, and excellent results!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.Y.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Had TUBA done in 2008, and the entire experience with the Shumway staff was wonderful. I was comfortable at the initial consultation, the surgery went well (I had it done the Friday before Memorial Day weekend, and was back to work the following Tuesday), and all of the after care appointments went great. It's nearly 10 years later and I'm still extremely happy with my decision. I even referred a few friends because I had such a wonderful experience and great results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Amazing doctor and the staff is top notch. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Great and caring Dr. and Staff. I'm a repeat patient and there is no other place I'd ever go. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I have been seeing Dr Shumway for Botox and fillers for several years . He is kind and treats you like your the most important person when speaking to you about any proceedures . I highly recommend him for any of your cosmetic surgery needs . His team are amazing and knowable,make you feel relaxed and excited !!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

This community of staff and Dr. Shumway are absolutely amazing. I'm referring a friend to them for her mommy makeover and will soon be there for another enhancement. They treat you like family and are the true definition of a team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I love the care and workmanship of the Shumway Institute team. I will be coming back for more. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway and his staff are fantastic! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I highly recommend Dr. Shumway and this team! I have had 3 procedures with Dr. Shumway and his team and it was the best decision I've ever made. Dr. Shumway is professional, experienced, friendly and caring. Kathy, Mary, Cherise and his staff are wonderful! They make their clients feel welcome and are extremely supportive. Great team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Great experience from beginning to end and aftercare. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Really liked Dr. Shumway. He made me feel like my feelings were valid and that what I wanted was more important than the “size” I wanted. Btw my end results were fantastic..?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 29, 2017

I love the profesional and caring team they are,I won’t go any other please for cosmetic surgery and other treatments I trust my doctor 100%i been whit him for almost 10 years More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 29, 2017

I love the profesional and caring team they are,I won’t go any other please for cosmetic surgery and other treatments I trust my doctor 100%i been whit him for almost 10 years More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 17, 2017

Dr. Shumway did my surgery back in 2006 and still am very happy with the umbilical breast augmentation. I have no visible scars, which is great. I was am still am pleased with the results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 17, 2017

Dr. Shumway did my surgery back in 2006 and still am very happy with the umbilical breast augmentation. I have no visible scars, which is great. I was am still am pleased with the results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 11, 2017

I had 2 procedures with Dr. Shumway. Liposuction and scar revision from surgery I had long time ago at a different facility. I can't say enough about how positive my experience was. Dr. Shumway and the Office Staff made the whole journey such a pleasant one. I am very happy with my results and planning another procedure in early 2018. My wife and mother also had different cosmetic procedures by Dr. Shumway and they couldn't be happier. Highly recommend him More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 10, 2017

I had breast augmentation three years ago and it’s the best decision I made for myself I had a wonderful experience and recovery and results turned out perfect. The staff are wonderful they’re kind and informative the experience from beginning to end was good I would recommend this Surgeon and staff to my friends and family! Thank you ? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.N.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 04, 2017

Dr. Shumway and his staff are theeee best! I looked forward to my follow up appointments just to chit chat with the Dr. and Mary! They made me feel like family, not a patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 05, 2017

Went in the other day for some skincare.  Made an appointment with Heather and was very happy with Heather.  I told her I felt and looked  "tired" in my face and wanted an anti aging and rejuvenation facial.  The experience was great.  I felt very relaxed and comfortable.  She was very knowledgeable about products and exactly what to do.  The experience and skincare was the best I ever experienced.  Thank you Heather More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 21, 2017

Dr. Shumway is truly wonderful!  He is extremely detail-oriented  and he really listens to what you want. He and his staff are just fantastic.  I am very happy to be giving him a 5 star review, and the best of recommendations! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 11, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience! It was my first time getting Botox and I was very nervous. The staff was extremely friendly and comforting through the whole process! Dr. Shumway was very personable and explained everything in great detail.  I already love the results! I can't wait to come back! :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 11, 2017

Great experience! Staff is absolutely wonderful,  the setting is very nice and Dr. Shumway is very gentle and very informative. He would be a great teacher! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 09, 2017

Heather is by far the best Esthetician I have come across. Love the medical grade facial products. My skin has never looked better. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 09, 2017

Heather is by far the best Esthetician I have come across. Love the medical grade facial products. My skin has never looked better. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 08, 2017

I am very happy with the result of my procedure. I would highly recommend Dr. Shumway and his super staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.K.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 07, 2017

Outstanding, consummate professional medical team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 07, 2017

I am very happy with the result of my procedure. I would highly recommend Dr. Shumway and his super staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 06, 2017

Dr. Shumway not only did a repair of a botched surgery done by another Dr. but he went above and beyond to make sure I would not have problems. He was always avaliable when ever I called him. I just wish their were more Drs. like him. We really need them. He's not in it for the money but to help his patients. He is the best surgeon I have ever had. As for his staff they're the best. From the minute I met them I knew I made the right decision. Thank you to all of you for all your support. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 06, 2017

Dr. Shumway not only did a repair of a botched surgery done by another Dr. but he went above and beyond to make sure I would not have problems. He was always avaliable when ever I called him. I just wish their were more Drs. like him. We really need them. He's not in it for the money but to help his patients. He is the best surgeon I have ever had. As for his staff they're the best. From the minute I met them I knew I made the right decision. Thank you to all of you for all your support. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.Y.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 03, 2017

I had a tummy tuck, liposuction and fat transfer procedures done by Dr. Shumway about 4 years ago.  I am still so happy with the results.  Jillian and Mary were very welcoming with every follow up visit.  Dr. Shumway has an awesome bedside manner.  He is very patient and has your interest at heart.  Thank you for such a good experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 17, 2017

I would totally recommend Sr. Shumway and his staff. I've done 3 procedures and it's been the best decision I've ever made. The doc is professional, friendly, and cares about his clients. Kathy, Mary, Cherise and the other staff are all awesome. They really care about me and my outcomes. You feel like part of the family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.Z.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 11, 2017

I could not have chosen a better Dr. I would recommend everyone to Dr. Shumway. The staff is beyond friendly and exceeded my expectations. Dr Shumway makes you feel comfortable, like you have known him for a long time, and he is an expert at what he does. I am beyond grateful with my results and will definitely keep returning to Dr shumway. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.Z.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 11, 2017

I could not have chosen a better Dr. I would recommend everyone to Dr. Shumway. The staff is beyond friendly and exceeded my expectations. Dr Shumway makes you feel comfortable, like you have known him for a long time, and he is an expert at what he does. I am beyond grateful with my results and will definitely keep returning to Dr shumway. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 18, 2017

Love Dr.Shumway and his staff! - Dr.Shumway is always very kind to me and makes me feel comfortable in his office. He has done my fillers for the last few years and I absolutely love the results. I like to keep my look somewhat natural, and he manages to enhance my lips without making me look like I've obviously had injections. And the process is almost painless because he is so skilled at what he does! And everyone tells me... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 07, 2017

Come here for my juvederm lip injections. Love the staff and the dr here, they are so nice and friendly and I get the best results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 05, 2017

Wonderful surgeon and staff, I did the silikon 1000 and I now have my mother hooked and she is here today doing the Juvaderm Ultra XC for lips, I also can't wait to do my second silikon injection,I recommend anyone to be apart of this amazing transformation that can be possible to anyone.... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 05, 2017

I am in my 50's and Dr. Shumway was referred to me by a beautiful woman in her early 30's. I am on a tight budget, but find it worth it to see Dr. Shumway for some inexpensive "help" which makes me feel years younger! The office and staff is very welcoming and professional. As I age, I will continue to seek his age-slowing help. Very kind and comfortable doctor and staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 04, 2017

What a great experience I had at the office the girls in the office are absolutely wonderful and Dr. was amazing spent over two hours going over my charts with me More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 01, 2017

I would recommend Dr. Shumway to anyone looking for an amazing cosmetic surgeon. He and his staff make you feel like you're special and that they genuinely care about you. I interviewed multiple surgeons before my friend recommended me here and I knew right away that I met my doctor!! Thank you Dr. Shumway, Mary and Kathy!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2016

Dr Shumway and the staff are awesome. I did the Lazer on my face to get rid of the sun damage from years of riding horses in the sun. It did exactly what I wanted. I still use them for botox around my eyes and forehead. Highly recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2016

Dr. Shumway has preformed two procedures for me. Permanent lip filler which looks very natural and an upper blepharoplasty - I love how it looks and wish I did sooner. His staff answered any/all questions and made me feel comfortable at all times.Awesome all around and have recommended his services to friends and family. Thanks! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2016

Been going to Dr Shumway for ten years, recommend him to everyone. By far the best in the biz More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2016

I found them initially on the internet by exploring Doctors with expertise. Cherise I spoke to on the phone was absolutely wonderful and talked me into coming in to speak with Dr. Shumway.I can't say enough about the staff as Amanda is like the daughter I never had, Mary the nurse is like a sister and Emily and Sarah were amazing on my first day. Since then I have been there a few times and the follow-up and care from them is among the best. They really make you feel like you are special and work with you on everything. On Dr. Shumway, well all I can say is he is the best! He is obviously an expert at what he does but he also loves it. When you have a passion for what you do, you become the best. I feel that he is not only a wonderful Doctor but feel as he is a friend. I have enjoyed many conversations and joking around with him and their number will always be in my book. I don't really do reviews on yelp but could not resist if it will help anyone make a decision on who to see. They are not cheap but when it comes to your looks, I'm not thinking you should be looking for a discount Doctor. If you want a practice that makes you feel special, truly cares about what you look like and think and makes you feel like you are home, don't go anywhere else but here!Thanks to all of you! Doc, Kathy, Cherise, Sara, Dr. R and my sweet Amanda! Hugs, Barbara More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2016

My experience with Dr. Shumway and his staff was incredible. Everyone I came in contact with was caring and amazingly professional. Dr. Shumway is a skilled surgeon, as his credentials will verify, and I wouldn't trust my face to anyone else. Definitely s 5 star experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 14, 2016

First I have to say that Dr. Shumway and all of his staff have always been friendly and willing to answer any of my questions or concerns which has helped to put me more at ease. It has only been two months since my surgery at the time of this review posting so I still have a little more healing to do. One of the best decisions that I have ever made was when I decided to have Dr. Shumway perform my lower (2/3) face and circumferential (front and back) neck lift surgery. At 64 years of age I take good care of my health and fitness, as well as pride in my appearance. However, I got to the point where I felt the need to have my sagging lower face and neck (front and back) lifted surgically. Dr. Shumway is not only a gifted surgeon, he also has an exceptional eye for the type of detail required to perform the surgery in a way that yielded natural looking results with a minimal amount of scarring for me. Dr. Shumway had me come in on a weekly basis for the first 5 weeks following the surgery in order to monitor my progress, remove stitches and implement certain techniques that are available that would help to minimize swelling and/or scarring as needed in the early stages of healing. He takes pride in doing whatever is required for the best possible results. He seemed to care about my wellbeing throughout the process and is very likeable, "down to earth" and easy to talk with. For those of you who don't have a friend or relative that is available or able to give you a ride home after the surgery, stay with you for the first 24 hours and give you a ride back to the doctor's office for a follow-up the next day, Dr. Shumway's office staff will help to get you in contact with one of the "care giver" services that they highly recommend. Julie Russell was the "care giver" that I used and I feel that for the peace of mind of having someone who has emergency medical and general nursing skills which are applicable to the post-operative recovery experience is well worth the additional fee rather than having a friend or relative who might feel uncomfortable trying to handle any unforeseen situations. I found Julie to be helpful with a number of "do's" and "don'ts" as well as keeping track of my medication times, etc. She was intelligent and very easy to get along with. She brought her own food and provisions as well. She even had a blood pressure monitor if needed. I would ask for her again if I needed that service in the future. I will be shown in the "before" and "after" photos. My shaved head in the "before" photo was a personal preference at the time. However no shaving of any hair is required for any face and neck lift procedures. I would definitely use Shumway Cosmetic Surgery in the future if needed and would recommend this service to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 26, 2016

I have noticed that some creepy person is posting unethical smears about Dr. Shumway.  Let me tell you that this is a case of harassment and I won't stand for it. This is the real truth about Dr. Shumway and his wonderful staff: My daughter first came in to have her nipple reconstructed do to an infected piercing. Dr. Shumway was very professional and reconstructed her breast so now she has more self confidence about herself. I went to Dr. Shumway do to a botched tummy tuck from Dr. Kinkaid.  Dr. Shumway did a perfect reconstruction of my belly and I feel human again.  I also received lip injections that are permanent.  I have been injected with silicone 3 times and it looks fabulous. My husband got a face lift and he looks amazing with those dreamy eyes.  I am going in again to get my neck liposuction and back liposuction.  I am very pleased with the knowledge of Dr. Shumway and I would highly recommend him. I am a nurse myself and I am really picky. Don't listen to those whinny people who have nothing better to do but raise suspicion when I know for a fact Dr. Shumway is very particular and has a lot of experience. Ziad is trying to undermine Dr. Shumway...shame on you... Katherine Q 54 years old More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 20, 2016

Dr shumway has done 2 surgeries for me and I'm extremely happy with the results. His staff is amazing they all know me by first name and are very caring people that make you feel right at home.  I just went in for a post op and was offered a free facial from Heather. For a small fee I upgraded to a peel. She was fantastic very down to earth and great at her job.  Now my skin feels great too! And she sent me home with a bottle of cleanser.  They honestly care and are leaders in the industry. I recommend them to everyone More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 23, 2016

I am so happy that I chose to have Dr. Shumway preform my breast augmentation. From the moment I met him, he made me feel really comfortable, answering all my questions before I could even ask them. He was very informative about what he was going to be doing to me the day of surgery. I have no wait time every time I come into the office for an appointment, I am taken care of right away. The staff are also very sweet and helped me out when I had any questions. Oh and my results are amazing! I couldn't ask for anything better, he did a great job. My breasts look very natural, especially for how big I went. Overall he's a great surgeon and his staff are amazing as well. I will be back to him for more procedures in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 14, 2016

Caring, professional, top notch surgeon and nursing staff. What's not to love? Excellent face lift done quickly with little down time and no unexpected gotchas. Very pleased More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 11, 2016

Dr. Shumway, and his team, could not be more professional, caring and helpful. I just had a surgical procedure done in his office and they were gentle and did an excellent job. Dr. Shumway is an excellent cosmetic surgeon and I could not have been in better hands. He even started all my IV's himself. What attention to detail!. Do yourself a favor and use this office for all cosmetic surgery and procedures! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 29, 2016

The experience I had at Dr. Shumway's office was amazing! Start to finish the staff was very accommodating and kind. My healing from surgery, check ups and all interactions were on point. Dr. Shumway is like an artist! Could not be happier. Highly recommend More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2016

I have been seeing Dr. Shumway for well over 10 years for a variety of dermatological needs. I have returned to his office time and time again because of the professionalism demonstrated by him and his staff, Dr. Shumway's expertise, and his friendly bedside manner. About two years ago, I hit perimenopause and the symptoms were not pleasant at all. I was at lthe point where it was hard to function day to day. I gained weight, despite working out (I have worked out all my life), I was depressed, severely fatigued, irritable and always had a general feeling of malaise. Prior to reaching this stage in my life I did some research about what I would do once I reached perimenopause. After weighing out the pros and cons of (synthetic) hormonal therapy and (natural) bio-identical hormonal therapy, I definitely decided on bio-identical therapy. A no brainer because bio-identical hormones are chemically equal to the hormones that our own body makes. During one of my regular visits to Dr. Shumway's office, I saw the pamphlets he had on bio-identical hormones so I quizzed him about them. He was so positive and upbeat and told me some of the same exact information that I had read about them. I couldn't be happier that he offered this program in his office. I told him to sign me up! He sent me to the lab to get my blood my hormone levels checked, and after the results came in he prescribed the right dosages that my body needed. I ordered the hormones from a compounding pharmacy that he recommended, and within 2-3 days of being on them, I felt some of my awful symptoms disappear. I was back to my old self (prior to perimenopause) after a month or so of being on bio-identicals. I felt years younger and couldn't be happier. Perimenopause was one of the more unpleasant things I have ever had to go through and feel fortunate that bio-identicals are a healthy alternative available for women, during this stage of their lives. Bio-identical's are truly a very natural way to turn back the clock, along with a good diet and exercise. If there is a fountain of youth, this is a very close remedy! Dr. Shumway can answer all of your questions about bio-identicals and work with you in terms of finding the right dosage for you. The great thing about them is that you can take them forever and the benefits are endless. I am a big fan of both Dr. Shumway and bio-identical hormones :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 29, 2016

Dr. Shumway has preformed two procedures for me. Permanent lip filler which looks very natural and an upper blepharoplasty - I love how it looks and wish I did sooner. His staff answered any/all questions and made me feel comfortable at all times. Awesome all around and have recommended his services to friends and family. Thanks! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 26, 2016

25 Yrs Old, No Kids, 5'5, 145lbs, 34B, Silicone 560cc - La Jolla, CA - I am so happy that I chose to have Dr. Shumway preform my breast augmentation. From the moment I met him, he made me feel really comfortable, answering all my questions before I could even ask them. He was very informative about what he was going to be doing to me the day of surgery. I have no wait time every time I come into the office for an appointment, I am taken care of right away. The staff are also very sweet and helped me out when I had any questions. Oh and my results are amazing! I couldn't ask for anything better, he did a great job. My breast look very natural especially for how big I went. Overall he's a great surgeon and his staff are amazing as well. I will be back to him for more procedures in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 09, 2016

Amazing surgeon! Great staff. Highly recommended. Great location on Scripps Hospital campus Definitely will recommend this practice to my friends and family  Great exerience More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 07, 2016

I found them initially on the internet by exploring Doctors with expertise. Cherise I spoke to on the phone was absolutely wonderful and talked me into coming in to speak with Dr. Shumway. I can't say enough about the staff as Amanda is like the daughter I never had, Mary the nurse is like a sister and Emily and Sarah were amazing on my first day. Since then I have been there a few times and the follow-up and care from them is among the best. They really make you feel like you are special and work with you on everything. On Dr. Shumway, well all I can say is he is the best! He is obviously an expert at what he does but he also loves it. When you have a passion for what you do, you become the best. I feel that he is not only a wonderful Doctor but feel as he is a friend. I have enjoyed many conversations and joking around with him and their number will always be in my book. I don't really do reviews on yelp but could not resist if it will help anyone make a decision on who to see. They are not cheap but when it comes to your looks, I'm not thinking you should be looking for a discount Doctor. If you want a practice that makes you feel special, truly cares about what you look like and think and makes you feel like you are home, don't go anywhere else but here! Thanks to all of you! Doc, Kathy, Cherise, Sara, Dr. R and my sweet Amanda! Hugs, Barbara More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 01, 2016

I became aguainted with Dr Shumway about 6 years ago. I immediately knew I could trust him. His office staff is wonderful. I have had procedures done as well as a family member of mine. My handicapped sister needed special cosmetic surgery and Dr was so wonderful with her as was all the staff, especially Mary. I highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 29, 2016

I researched extensively and found Shumway  cosmetic surgery center. Dr Shumway and Dr. Renteria his Fellow associate  and staff are amazing. From Cherise who you will meet first during your consultation process.. on to Amanda and Mary who will assist you in surgery and will do your follow-up care.  I couldn't be happier with my results. I highly recommend Dr Shumway. I have silicone breast implants.. He also specializes in saline Tuba through the belly button. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 29, 2016

I have been to Dr Shumway and his awesome team twice and will go back again! The staff is professional, friendly and they really care about you and continue well after recovery. Prices are reasonable and they often have great incentives and discounts! I am so pleased with my results and it was the best decision I have ever made!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 19, 2016

Very fortunate to have found Dr Shumway and staff ! I feel when looking for a P S the bottom line has to be , the doctor has to be an expert in his field and extremely honest at the consultation as to what results are to be expected . However to find this as well as excellent bedside manner and amazing staff is kinda like Hitting the Plastic Surgery and antiaging  jackpot ! I was very nervous to make the consult to "have something done " I have been on consultations In the past at different places and was very put off by the very quick kinda generic Answers to my questions and concerns . I mean this is serious business , I'm using my savings and I want in depth Informative answers! Well it was quite different with Dr Shumway . Dr Shumway took all the time needed with me and presented different options with the associated advantages as well as drawbacks . And he's really in to his work ! I can tell as every follow up appointment has been a learning experience of things to do to look younger ,little tidbits of new research ,etc Then there is the staff . I was already prepared to go through without even really interacting with the patient coordinator and the nurses . But I am truly amazed at the staff and I feel like they really make the experience that much better ,especially with Someone as anxious as me about the whole process . For example I showed up 30 min early the day of surgery because of a misunderstanding on my part and I was cranky and close to the point of Being rude . They were just as patient with me and nice as if i was the nicest person in the world and really helped me through my anxiety about the needle for anesthesia and actually going through w the actual procedure as i was just freaking out. The aftercare as been very thorough. I never get the feeling that I'm being rushed . Kathy Shumway goes above and beyond as she has called me back at 9pm in time to let me know that yes i can go to the floor/barre ballet class the next morning ! I don't , as a rule , take the time or like to write reviews . I am not compensated to write this but feel i must as i feel grateful to Dr. Shumway and staff and want to spread the word . Oh, almost forgot ,the results .... I'm still (understandably ) swollen ..but it appears that yes I am going to look younger and prettier ! Possibly even more than I thought ...yay ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 05, 2016

Elderly Lady: Best Job on Persistent Frown Between my Eyebrows - La Jolla, CA - I have seen Dr. Shumway off and on for 20 years for different procedures. While the results have varied, the Botox always works perfectly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.I.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2015

great staff.doctor stands by his work.well use again in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 16, 2015

Dr. Shumway and his staff are like family. He is an amazing doctor and I trust him whole heartedly with any procedure I've had. 4 years post-op TUBA and they still look and feel amazing!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 17, 2015

I have never left a review on here before but my breast aug consultation yesterday warranted it. I had a 1pm appt and due to opening day traffic from the del mar races I didn't arrive until well after 2pm. Not only did they still see me, they took their time with me and had me try on several sets of implants until I was completely comfortable with the result. We discussed a lift and when I stated I didn't want the " lollipop" scar Dr. Shumway offered an alternative method. They also don't make you feel insecure and try to offer you procedures you don't need. The dr. Suggested we could start with the implant and see if I really needed the lift at a later date.   As for the staff they are amazing! I feel totally confident in Dr. Shumway. He has a great way of putting you right at ease and has a great sense of humor. His partner Dr. Renteria and his patient coordinator were great as well!    The only bad review he has on here is by someone that was dissatisfied with their belly liposuction. The belly is the WORST place for a woman to get liposuction! It almost always leaves tons of scar tissue which leads to lumps and bumps. That certainly isn't the Dr.'s fault.    I highly recommend Dr.Shumway!  I have had several consultations and he has by far been the best I've met with. I will update my review after my procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 23, 2015

I was so nervous finding a surgeon for a breast augmentation and I am SO GLAD I found Dr. Shumway! I am 3 years post-op and have the most amazing results! I then went back for lip augmentation to help disguise an old scar of mine and I almost cried tears of joy after seeing the work he did. His staff is SO sweet and amazing and I love them like family! Incredible bedside manner!! I wouldn't go to any other doctor now and am so pleased with the service and skill he and his staff provide. Thank you guys from the bottom of my heart!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 01, 2014

I e used him for years besides several board certifications he's a perfectionist I love using him for all of my plastic surgery a true artist More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.Y.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 09, 2014

I love Shumway! Almost 3 years post op. Best decision I ever made :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.Y.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 09, 2014

I love Shumway! Almost 3 years post op. Best decision I ever made :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 05, 2014

Micro-liposuction - La Jolla, CA - Dr. Shumway is a wonderful doctor! He has more experience than most surgeons when it comes to body and face. He does not rush his patients into surgery and carefully presents risks and benefits. Dr. Shumway is a very good listener. Cherise, the Patient Care Coordinator, is very knowledgeable on a variety of procedures and makes you feel very comfortable, as a new patient (especially when in... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 30, 2014

It has been about 7 weeks post op. I can't say enough good things about Dr. Shumway and his staff.  They are so inviting every time you walk through the door. They are so easy to talk to about concerns and take time to explain. I would have no hesitation in recommending Shumway Cosmetics to anyone. I am already very pleased with the procedures that I had done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 28, 2013

Last December I purchased a Groupon--$119 for 2 face micropeels.  As of a little earlier this year I'd redeemed both micropeels and am now here to sing some praises. Jillian did both of my micropeels, and I really like Jillian.  I noticed fellow Yelper Christina R. mentioned Jillian has "a very calming voice and personality."  What a nice compliment, one I very much agree with. A micropeel session lasts about an hour.  I'd describe the major events as, first, the cleansing of the skin, followed by the scraping off of some hair and surface skin (this part makes me stifle giggles because it feels like I'm being shaved), application of glycolic acid (there are at least 2 different % concentrations available, and I've tried them both), cleansing of the skin again, and then finally application of a heavy moisturizer for your fresh skin.  I'm sure I left out a few steps, but that's the gist of it in layman's terms. Application of the acid amounts to a stinging sensation for a few minutes.  Thank goodness for the little fan that's pointing at your skin for those few minutes; without it the experience would be less pleasant.  After each micropeel my skin felt particularly smooth, looked fresh, and just felt so darn clean!  I was told to expect a little redness and/or drying in the days following my appointments but didn't experience either. I'm thankful for a lot of things, and Shumway Cosmetic Surgery is one of those things.  Happy Thanksgiving! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 02, 2013

If I could give more than 5 stars I would!!! I have had two services done by Dr. Shumway and words can't desribe how pleased I am.  After consulting with multiple physicians, I made my decision.  From the instant I met the doctor and the staff I knew I had found the right place.  They even gave me two complimentary consultations because I suffer from choice anxiety and buyers remorse.  Let me tell you, I never once in the past 8 months have regretted my decision.  Dr. Shumway is an artist, I have recommended him to several people and will continue to do so.  All of the women working with him are awesome as well, I have had the most contact with Jillian, Mary, and Sarah...boy are the good! I would highly suggest this physician to anybody in the market.  A huge benefit to choosing this doctor is the fact that he doesn't completely knock you out. No general anesthesia! From initial phone call all the way through the process to the post-operative care I would choose nobody else.  You will not regret it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 27, 2013

About six months ago I came to Dr. Shumway's office for a TUBA (Trans-Umbilical Breast Augmentation) AKA "through the belly button" and I am very pleased with the results. All of his staff were helpful, friendly, took a good amount of time with me on each visit, and made me feel welcome and well taken care of. I believe Dr. Shumway is the GO-TO expert for this procedure, which is why I choose him, and I am sure glad I did. No complications, I had my surgery on a Monday and was at a wedding THAT Friday, although I did follow his direction to "take it easy" which is very important. I am shocked at how affordable his procedures are. The value WELL exceeds what you spend. After a few months I did start to experience the beginning stages of "capsular contraction" on one breast, which means my body started to form scar tissue around one of the implants, but this had nothing to do with Dr. Shumway, in fact, this is very common for any patient, it just meant my body decided it wasn't used to the implant being there and I needed to massage it more deeply, just as he instructed, which I have, and the situation has improved. Just follow his instructions and everything will turn out perfectly! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 14, 2013

Bought a groupon for here and what a deal!!!  Jillian is the aesthetician here and she is wonderful!   I can't comment on surgery, but I go in once a month for a micro-peel and come out feeling fabulous!  She uses the lowest strength on my skin and it goes very quickly and smoothly.  It's minimally painful, just a brief burning sensation for a few minutes.  She recommends these peels over micro-dermabrasion which she feels is potentially permanently harmful to your skin.   The setting is very relaxing and professional.  She answered all my questions in detail with ease.  Her hands are very steady and she has a very calming voice and personality.     Pamper yourself and try it out! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 16, 2012

Absolutely Amazing Staff and Pain Free Surgery! - San Diego, CA - Extremely personable staff that goes above and beyond their job. They always made me feel so at ease and did everything they could to make sure I was ready to go through this drastic surgery. I chose Dr. Shumway's office for a Rhinoplasty consultation about two years ago. When I recently went back they quoted me the same price as my consultation & that same day I booked my surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 11, 2012

Amazing Doctor, Amazing Staff - San Diego, CA - I chose Dr. Shumway because of his before and afters. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 03, 2012

Nice Shaping - La Jolla, CA - I choose this rating because it reflects my experience. I was referred to Dr. Shumway, years ago for a skin condition and have been going back every since! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 29, 2012

Breast Augmentation - La Jolla, CA - To have better body proportion More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 28, 2012

Amazing Work, I Wouldn't Trust Anyone else to Touch my Face! - La Jolla, CA - I have always been concious of my profile because of my nose. I felt this way since I was 12. I finally decided to do the surgery in my late 20's and I am so glad I went through it! Dr Shumway did an amazing job! My nose turned out just as he described, I was actually shocked by how good it really looked when it was done - way better than I could of imagined! Dr Shumway and his staff are wonderful, I always feel comfortable at their office & I know I am in good hands. I wouldn't trust anyone else to touch my face =) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.F.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 12, 2012

Incredible TUBA & BOTOX Results from Dr. Shumway - La Jolla, CA - I went to Dr. Shumway for an under-the-muscle transumbilical breast augmentation (TUBA) in March 2008, and nothing about the experience wasn't perfect; I simply listened to Dr. Shumway and did everything I needed to do to take care of myself. Also, since early 2008 I've visited Dr. Shumway's office to receive BOTOX injections in my forehead. Now I go to the office about every 4-5 months to eliminate the severe horizontal line that showed up during my early 20s, a line that I refer to as The Grand Canyon.The office is intimate and comfortable. I appreciate the variety of magazines and brochures in the waiting room, though I've never had to wait very long.Dr. Shumway is incredible, and "love" is a word I think I'd use to describe the way I feel about Mary (Surgical Assistant, EMT, Aesthetician), Jillian (Cosmetologist), and Kathy (Practice Manager). Really warm, knowledgeable people. I truly look forward to every appointment, which sounds cliché but is the truth. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 16, 2012

I had a facial done by Jillian and it was AMAZING! My skin was so beautiful and felt amazing after the facial. I will definitely be returning for more facials! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 06, 2012

dr. shumway and his staff  are amazing....They truly care about the patient...I received  excellent care before and after my surgery...my 1st augmentation i received; my previous doctor seemed to just care about getting my money and the surgery done then out the door i went...even conveniently loosing my file when i returned for a visit after experiencing a problem...Dr Shumways office is so organized and I will be sending everyone I know to them! thank you thank you thank you Dr. Shumway!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.I.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 03, 2011

Time to trade in my saline for silicone. - I've been an RN for over 22 years now with the balk of my background in critical care. I now work in a cardiac cath lab and I am the one to do the patient sedation, I sometimes too recover patients. So I have a few things that I notice as a health care provider. Coming into Dr's office the staff was friendly and courteous but even more impressive is how long the staff has all worked together with Doctor (10 years +) and how well they all get along and work well together. This happy environment was passed right on down to me the patient. They were awesome! All my questions were answered. When I needed something for nausea on Saturday the phone was answered and a prescription called in without delay. Office follow up is big they make it clear what they expected of me before surgery that I would be back there a lot. It's all good. Doctor had an outstanding medical background and my husband and I were concerned with my choice to go with the TUBA but I felt with Doctors level of experience, and years in practice I was making a good choice and now I feel I made a Great Choice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 28, 2011

I had breast augmentation done Nov 2008.  I went from a small 36A to a full 36D.  I look at my breasts every singe day and love love love them :)  My first appt with Dr. Shumway sealed the deal.  My husband was with me and we were shown several sizes of actual implants so you could hold them and really get a good idea of what was best.  Dr. Shumway explained how to choose the correct size that would look appropriate on my body frame.  We chose silicone high profile implants.   The surgery was done on a Monday and I was back at work the following Monday.  I took pain pills the first couple of days and then other than Motrin and ICE that was all I needed after that.   The entire staff was always very caring, never rushed, answered questions ... over all a wonderful experience!!!!  Love Mary!!  Jillian was always very cheerful!!  Kathy was very through in explaining every aspect of the entire process!!  Dr. Shumway .... Amazing!!   Over all my experience was FABULOUS!!!  Thank you Dr. Shumway for giving me what I always wanted :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 03, 2010

I had a facial done at by Jillian yesterday at Dr. Shumway's office. It turned out much better than I expected (I didn't expect it to be bad, I just expected it to be the same as every other facial I've had). I have had two facials in the past at other places and although they both improved the apearance of my skin, the results were not even close to as dramatic of a change as what happened yesterday. The skin on my face is softer than it's ever been, my skin tone is already more even and my skin looks good without make up on it. I would recomend this to anyone who is looking to improve the appearance of thier skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 17, 2010

I Stressed for Months and Now my Breast Augmentation is over and I'm Thrilled! - San Diego, CA - I want to share my breast augmentation story because when I was contemplating getting one I searched the Internet constantly for other people's stories and it helped me tremendously! So here it goes... After two kids, my once full C cup boobs turned into small SMALL B cups. After a year of going back and forth on whether to get a boob job or not, I finally decided to go to a consultation... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 20, 2010

I cannot agree more with Kristin F.'s remarks.  I just came back from my first visit to Dr. Shumway's office and I must say I was very pleased with the warmth and attention all the staff including the Dr. himself gave me.  I went to receive an injectable and I felt well attended and not rushed (as with other places). I highly recommend this location for any minor to major cosmetic needs.  I will be going to Dr. Shumway for revision Rhino in about 6 months.  A Rhino performed by a different surgeon out of state.  I saw several before and after Rhino photos as well as one of his staff's revisions (from previous work done elsewhere) and I was quite pleased.  This may be silly to say but you can the staff is sincere and truly want to help you in your quest to look your best!  Cheers! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Dec 13, 2009

Wish I had gone to him sooner!!!! - I went to Dr. Shumway to have liposuction. I had a tummy tuck and liposuction performed by another doctor, and went to Dr. Shumway for my third surgery after hearing rave reviews from a friend of mine. I am no stranger to plastic surgery; I had my previous procedures on two separate occasions and had experienced recovery from those surgeries which were painful and took long for me to recover. But my surgery with Dr. Shumway was pain free, and the recovery was seamless. The results were better than those of my previous surgeon. I can only say, I wished I had gone to him sooner. I love the staff, I love Dr. Shumway, and I am ecstatic with my results. If you have any reservations about choosing Dr. Shumway, please take it from me, he is the best and you will be happy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 12, 2009

I went to Dr. Shumway to have liposuction. I had a tummy tuck and liposuction performed by another doctor, and went to Dr. Shumway for my third surgery after hearing rave reviews from a friend of mine. I am no stranger to plastic surgery; I had my previous procedures on two separate occasions and had experienced recovery from those surgeries which were painful and took long for me to recover. But my surgery with Dr. Shumway was pain free, and the recovery was seamless. The results were better than those of my previous surgeon. I can only say, I wished I had gone to him sooner. I love the staff, I love Dr. Shumway, and I am ecstatic with my results. If you have any reservations about choosing Dr. Shumway, please take it from me, he is the best and you will be happy. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person.