Patient Reviews

Reviews for Shumway Cosmetic Surgery

Reviews for Dr. Robert Shumway

Whether you're looking for dramatic changes or subtle outcomes, our La Jolla, CA cosmetic surgeon, Dr. Robert A. Shumway, can help you achieve your desired results. With his valued team of experienced medical professionals at Shumway Cosmetic Surgery, Dr. Shumway offers surgeries and treatments of the body, breast, face, and skin for men and women of all ages. He is a cosmetic surgeon who truly cares for each of his patients, listens attentively, and provides you with excellent and realistic results. Who better to ask about their personal experience with Shumway Cosmetic Surgery than from former patients themselves? In this section, we have made their reviews and testimonials available to you. These real-life stories can verify that Dr. Shumway and his impressive medical staff all understand the importance of being professional, skilled, and compassionate in the world of surgical care. In his state-of-the-art facility with a surgical suite that is accredited by the Joint Commission, Dr. Shumway performs all of his outpatient surgeries. We also offer nonsurgical cosmetic treatments, such as BOTOX wrinkle relaxer injections, chemical peels, facials, and Coherent UltraPulse CO2 laser facial skin resurfacing. Take this opportunity to see what others are saying about their transformative experiences with private consultations, successful outcomes of procedures, staff, end results, and much more through these personal testimonials from our patients.

Filter54 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from L.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 09, 2018

They did a great job. Love everybody. I recommend them a 100%. They care about their patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 09, 2018

My experience with Dr. Shumway and staff was incredible. They made me feel so comfortable and so happy with the decision I had made. The quality of work that is done is amazing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 09, 2018

I had a really bad injury on my face in 2016. I was so insecure and uncomfortable the way my face looked after the damage! On top of that I had complications on the parotid gland (saliva duct) in the right side of my face. I saw 5 different plastic surgeons, keep in mind that 2 of them refused to work on my face because they didn't want to deal with the saliva gland. Then I found Doctor Shamway! He made me feel very comfortable and the most important thing HE GAVE ME A HOPE! Hope that I will have a normal face again! 2017 I had a few surgeries with Doctor Shamway!! He did an amazing job! On my face and my nose! My GOD! My face didn't look that good even before the injury! His assistants are sweet and so helpful ! Kathy was holding my hand when doctor was removing the stitches, it just made me smile! The care, the attention coming from those people will make you feel so welcomed! Doctor Shamway can do surgery on me any time!!! I trust him, could not wish for a better doctor! So knowledgeable and educated, and an amazing personality! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2018

Dr. Shumway is extremely professional and honest. With his calm demeanor and his super nice staff, they will go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and "at home" when in the office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2018

Wonderful staff, very professional Dr.Received excellent service. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2018

I went to Shumway Cosmetics Surgery for a breast revision — I had gotten a breast augmentation 3 years prior with another plastic surgeon who convinced me to go larger than I was comfortable with. Dr. Shumway and his team are not only overwhelmingly professional and kind - they are also masters in their industry, they made me feel comfortable, spent countless hours with me helping me make the right decision for me! The surgery and recovery could not have gone smoother and Dr. Shumway and his team proactively prepared me for every step of the process. I LOVE THE OUTCOME. I’ve never felt more confident in my life! Dr. Shumway’s practice truly feels like a family and they are 110% patient-centered - they are absolutely fantastic. Do yourself a favor & call them today! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2018

Dr. Shumway and his staff are the most professional and kindhearted people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting here in San Diego. It is unusual to meet such people in this profession. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway and his team are amazing! I had a wonderful experience. They all truly care for their patients and I would highly recommend anyone to go there for their cosmetic needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I thought I was going to have to have a full breast reduction. Hi to my surprise I was able to have liposuction on my breasts! I didn’t even know that was an option. Well, I did it and couldn’t be happier with the results! Thank you Dr. Shumway More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway is the absolute best. My case has been very difficult and he has seen it through until the end!! He has so much integrity and I am thankful for him and his dedication to his patients More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I've been going to Dr. Shumway for approximately 17yrs. I underwent a "mini facelift" all those years back and have since continued with Dysport, Botox and fillers. Dr. Shumway is a top-notch plastic surgeon and human being. He is current and abreast of the new advances in his field and patients benefit with access to some of the latest and best surgical techniques and injectable fillers for soft tissue augmentation and wrinkle reduction. His staff including Mary and Kathy, are personable and make sure my needs and questions are addressed. I feel safe and relaxed in the care of Dr. Shumway and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway is an incredibly talented surgeon! I am extremely happy with the care I have received and the results of my cosmetic procedures. I always feel comfortable in the office, and his staff is very helpful and kind. I would suggest Dr. Shumway to anyone looking to enhance their appearance! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Fantastic experience, staff is very knowledgeable & Dr.Shumway is personable & friendly. I will return for more services More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Heather was awesome! She took such great care of my skin. My facial was very relaxing. She explained to me what I need to make my skin better . I will definitely be back for another beauty treatment! Thank you Heather! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Excellent compassionate staff. I felt well taken care of by Dr. Shumway after my surgery. I will defiantly consult with Dr. Shumway for any future procedures. His office staff are professional and make their clients feel like a priority. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

My experience with Dr. Shumway was an A++. I was very very satisfied with Dr. Shumway and Staff communication. Over all my procedure of a tuba breast argumentation was excellent. I am very happy and satisfied with my surgery results, including pre-op and post-op care. I will definitely recommend this surgeon . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

He's great and Caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

This office is awesome! Everyone here is kind and respectful. You always feel like part of a part of this family. I’m 58 I’m often taken to be in my late 30’s early 40s. When I confide that I’ve had some work done people are always blown away. It’s a wonderful feeling to have that confidence everywhere you go when you know you look your best! Thank you Dr. Shumway and thank you to all your wonderful Staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I have been going to Dr. Shumway for over fifteen years. He performed many procedures on me. Plastic surgery, fillers, Botox, etc.This is the best place to help any one, men and women to avoid aging.Dr. Shumway helps in many different ways.I recommended many friends to Dr. Shumway in the past and they are all happy.He has the best people working in his office, super polite and very nice people.This is the only place I will ever go for health and beauty.I feel and look twenty years younger.Photos upon request :):):):) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

The staff is so amazing! So polite and Dr. Shumway is great, very straight forward. Made me feel very comfortable. The overall care was fantastic! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.1.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Outstanding, consummate professional medical team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Warm friendly staff - Dr Shumway spent the time to explain the procedure which made me feel comfortable and I am extremely happy with my results! I will be going back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Great experience :) very nice staff, and excellent results!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I love Dr. Shumway and his staff. Everyone is so friendly and makes you feel extremely comfortable and at ease. I have never had bruising or pain during or after my botox injections or fillers. I personally have recommended my family and friends to go to Dr. Shumway. I also love how they are a family practice and involved in many community outreach programs to support local causes and events. Thumbs Up!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I love the staff! Everyone is so caring and kind. They really make you feel at ease and calm your nerves. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

already been very successful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Just wonderful More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway and his team are just the best! I am so happy with everything they have done for me!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

My experience has and always been very informative and satisfactory with Dr. Shumway and his staff. So no matter what procedure you're going to have or seek consultation on, you can rest assure that your needs or concerns will be professionally educational address. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Very informative, had a great experience. I recommend I will be back More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Amazing doctor and the staff is top notch. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Great and caring Dr. and Staff. I'm a repeat patient and there is no other place I'd ever go. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I have been seeing Dr Shumway for Botox and fillers for several years . He is kind and treats you like your the most important person when speaking to you about any proceedures . I highly recommend him for any of your cosmetic surgery needs . His team are amazing and knowable,make you feel relaxed and excited !!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

This community of staff and Dr. Shumway are absolutely amazing. I'm referring a friend to them for her mommy makeover and will soon be there for another enhancement. They treat you like family and are the true definition of a team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I love the care and workmanship of the Shumway Institute team. I will be coming back for more. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.Y.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Had TUBA done in 2008, and the entire experience with the Shumway staff was wonderful. I was comfortable at the initial consultation, the surgery went well (I had it done the Friday before Memorial Day weekend, and was back to work the following Tuesday), and all of the after care appointments went great. It's nearly 10 years later and I'm still extremely happy with my decision. I even referred a few friends because I had such a wonderful experience and great results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Anyone interested in finding expert care related o skincare or improvements to their appearance can find it at the Shumway Institute. Trustworthy, professional, experienced and caring staff are the best- Don't want to go anywhere else! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

This team is on point when it comes to support and attention to the client. I appreciate that each follow up appointment was at my convenience. They even washed my hair after removing my bandages a couple days after surgery. No other Doctor's office provides this service. All questions are answered immediately. I appreciate the care this team provides. They also furnished copies of my before photos. Keep providing this quality of service than we all appreciate. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr Shumway is excellent. I have never felt so comfortable in a doctors office and calm knowing I would get great results. The others in the office are also excellent, best nurses ever and so friendly. They made me feel at home each and every time I came in. I would recommend anyone to go see him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I cannot say enough positive things about Dr. Shumway and his lovely wife and daughter and the rest of the staff at Shumway Cosmetics. They have truly treated me like family. I have been seeing Dr. Shumway for many years now dating back to probably 2010 after going to several other consultations, some of which literally left me in tears. The only tears I cried after meeting with Mr. and Mrs. Shumway were tears of joy! Their office is located on the Scripps Hospital campus in La Jolla and easy to locate and access. The office is warm and inviting. Dr. Shumway has a wonderful bed-side manner and great energy. He is genuinely extremely compassionate, caring and ethical and has always gone above and beyond to make sure that I am happy and healthy. I also love that he offers Bio Identical Hormone Replacement Therapy at a very reasonable price. Shumway Cosmetics is a one stop shop for all of my cosmetic and anti-aging needs. Another thing I love and highly admire about Dr. Shumway is his tenacity and the fact that he is constantly furthering his education and offering the latest and greatest in his field. I would truly be lost without him. Meeting Dr. Shumway has been nothing short of a blessing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway and his staff are fantastic! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I highly recommend Dr. Shumway and this team! I have had 3 procedures with Dr. Shumway and his team and it was the best decision I've ever made. Dr. Shumway is professional, experienced, friendly and caring. Kathy, Mary, Cherise and his staff are wonderful! They make their clients feel welcome and are extremely supportive. Great team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Great experience from beginning to end and aftercare. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Really liked Dr. Shumway. He made me feel like my feelings were valid and that what I wanted was more important than the “size” I wanted. Btw my end results were fantastic..?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr. Shumway and his staff took great care of me, from the moment i walked in for my first consultation to the moment I left the operating room. They are professional but also very personable and helpful. I could call them and visit them at anytime after my surgery to ask questions and just make sure my recovery was on track. Dr. Shumway also did a great job with the cosmetic procedure I got- my fiance can attest to this! I would definitely recommend him to others and I would go back to his office in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Dr Shumay is great.. staff is friendly. Everyone is very knowledgeable about their products and services. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2016

Dr. Shumway has preformed two procedures for me. Permanent lip filler which looks very natural and an upper blepharoplasty - I love how it looks and wish I did sooner. His staff answered any/all questions and made me feel comfortable at all times.Awesome all around and have recommended his services to friends and family. Thanks! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2016

Dr Shumway and the staff are awesome. I did the Lazer on my face to get rid of the sun damage from years of riding horses in the sun. It did exactly what I wanted. I still use them for botox around my eyes and forehead. Highly recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2016

I found them initially on the internet by exploring Doctors with expertise. Cherise I spoke to on the phone was absolutely wonderful and talked me into coming in to speak with Dr. Shumway.I can't say enough about the staff as Amanda is like the daughter I never had, Mary the nurse is like a sister and Emily and Sarah were amazing on my first day. Since then I have been there a few times and the follow-up and care from them is among the best. They really make you feel like you are special and work with you on everything. On Dr. Shumway, well all I can say is he is the best! He is obviously an expert at what he does but he also loves it. When you have a passion for what you do, you become the best. I feel that he is not only a wonderful Doctor but feel as he is a friend. I have enjoyed many conversations and joking around with him and their number will always be in my book. I don't really do reviews on yelp but could not resist if it will help anyone make a decision on who to see. They are not cheap but when it comes to your looks, I'm not thinking you should be looking for a discount Doctor. If you want a practice that makes you feel special, truly cares about what you look like and think and makes you feel like you are home, don't go anywhere else but here!Thanks to all of you! Doc, Kathy, Cherise, Sara, Dr. R and my sweet Amanda! Hugs, Barbara More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2016

Been going to Dr Shumway for ten years, recommend him to everyone. By far the best in the biz More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2016

My experience with Dr. Shumway and his staff was incredible. Everyone I came in contact with was caring and amazingly professional. Dr. Shumway is a skilled surgeon, as his credentials will verify, and I wouldn't trust my face to anyone else. Definitely s 5 star experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.I.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2015

great staff.doctor stands by his work.well use again in the future. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 09, 2018

I was referred to Shumway by two friends who are current (and happy) patients. Dr. Shumway was great, and gave some very valuable advice!! I'd definitely recommend him to family and friends. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

Friendl helpful staff. Great resuts More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person.