Patient Reviews

Reviews for Shumway Cosmetic Surgery

Reviews for Dr. Robert Shumway

Whether you're looking for dramatic changes or subtle outcomes, our La Jolla, CA cosmetic surgeon, Dr. Robert A. Shumway, can help you achieve your desired results. With his valued team of experienced medical professionals at Shumway Cosmetic Surgery, Dr. Shumway offers surgeries and treatments of the body, breast, face, and skin for men and women of all ages. He is a cosmetic surgeon who truly cares for each of his patients, listens attentively, and provides you with excellent and realistic results. Who better to ask about their personal experience with Shumway Cosmetic Surgery than from former patients themselves? In this section, we have made their reviews and testimonials available to you. These real-life stories can verify that Dr. Shumway and his impressive medical staff all understand the importance of being professional, skilled, and compassionate in the world of surgical care. In his state-of-the-art facility with a surgical suite that is accredited by the Joint Commission, Dr. Shumway performs all of his outpatient surgeries. We also offer nonsurgical cosmetic treatments, such as BOTOX wrinkle relaxer injections, chemical peels, facials, and Coherent UltraPulse CO2 laser facial skin resurfacing. Take this opportunity to see what others are saying about their transformative experiences with private consultations, successful outcomes of procedures, staff, end results, and much more through these personal testimonials from our patients.

Filter45 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 07, 2019

I had a facial last week with Heather, it was such a nice relaxing experience. Heather explained how all the products work and the benefits of using them consistently! Heather was very gentle and I highly recommend her! After I finish this review I am calling the office to schedule my next appointment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 10, 2019

Had a facial with Heather Shumway, by far amazing ! She's very knowledgeable about skincare .. my skin was feeling very dry and dull and was having some mild breakouts .. my skin feels and looks amazing!!! I will definitely be going back More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 28, 2018

I've been a patient here for many years and had several procedures.   Dr. Shumway is always caring and takes the time to answer all questions and concerns and the results are fantastic.  I visited several doctors before deciding on Dr. Shumway and am glad I made the decision to become a patient here. Follow up care and scheduling by the staff are top notch. They all truly care about the patient and go the extra mile to make sure you are well cared for.  When I developed breast cancer (I did not have any breast procedures here) and was down, they took the time to send me a card to lift my spirits. Not many doctors and staff would do that. I'm also very happy with Heather Shumway, please go and enjoy a facial with her.  Very relaxing and she provides great advice on your skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 29, 2018

I had a Breast Augmentation done with Dr Shumway in December 2017. I had researched a lot of other physicians before scheduling my consultation at Shumway Cosmetic Surgery as far as reviews, prices and results and looked at many before and after pictures. I went to the consultation and met with Dr Shumway and his staff and I really am so lucky I did. After speaking with them and seeing how Dr Shumway took the time to answer all my questions I got a good feeling that he really care about how I was feeling. I knew he could tell I was a bit anxious because it is a big decision and offered more information than I had questions which helped a lot. Dr Shumway is very confident in his work and it shows when he is speaking with you. I felt so comfortable and so informed by the time I left the office that an hour later I called back to let them know I wanted to go ahead with scheduling the procedure and went ahead and paid up front. 2 weeks later I had the surgery done and was up and about the next day with minimal discomfort and I was just taking extra strength Tylenol for pain. I followed all the post op instructions his staff and Dr Shumway gave me and I healed exactly the way I was supposed to in the predicted time frame I was told. I received follow up phone calls from his amazing staff asking how I was doing or if I needed anything. I went to all my follow up appointments and everything was right on schedule. It was the best experience I have ever had and am so pleased. My procedure was absolutely perfect. My breast are amazingly even and look amazing and I have minimal scarring which have halfway disappeared since the surgery. Don't get me wrong I have had 4 children and breast fed each one so when I say he did an amazing job I am not kidding. I would definitely recommend him to anyone I know and have many times over. I am looking forward to scheduling my next procedure with his office knowing that I have nothing to worry about because I am in good hands. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 02, 2018

I had the best facial with Heather Shumway. I would highly recommend her and this office. Thank you, Laura More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 27, 2018

Absolutely the best surgeon and staff overall! I had my surgery on January 3rd 2018 and have received the best care. On the 3rd day I was walking around like I never had surgery!! ( and my belly button is beautiful) Dr Shumway is very thorough and such a great teacher! I travel from Texas and will continue to travel to see him and the staff!  Besides my wonderfully mommy makeover, my husband and I loved our facials from Heather! Thank you Dr shumway for taking great care of my scars!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 29, 2017

Dr SHUMWAY and  Staff are excellent team of professional!!!   I was breast cancer survivor and had to do couples breast reconstruction. Dr Shamway has been my primary head plastic surgeon for the last nine years. It is has been two years since  I have done last  Breast  successful reconstruction surgery!  I highly recommend Dr SHUMWAY  for all you need for cosmetic  plastics or medical reconstruction  surgeries. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 27, 2017

He got rid of the bump in my nose within 2 minutes using filler!  Everyone is the office is so sweet. 10/10 would recommend More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 05, 2017

Went in the other day for some skincare.  Made an appointment with Heather and was very happy with Heather.  I told her I felt and looked  "tired" in my face and wanted an anti aging and rejuvenation facial.  The experience was great.  I felt very relaxed and comfortable.  She was very knowledgeable about products and exactly what to do.  The experience and skincare was the best I ever experienced.  Thank you Heather More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 21, 2017

Dr. Shumway is truly wonderful!  He is extremely detail-oriented  and he really listens to what you want. He and his staff are just fantastic.  I am very happy to be giving him a 5 star review, and the best of recommendations! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 11, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience! It was my first time getting Botox and I was very nervous. The staff was extremely friendly and comforting through the whole process! Dr. Shumway was very personable and explained everything in great detail.  I already love the results! I can't wait to come back! :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 11, 2017

Great experience! Staff is absolutely wonderful,  the setting is very nice and Dr. Shumway is very gentle and very informative. He would be a great teacher! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.Y.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 03, 2017

I had a tummy tuck, liposuction and fat transfer procedures done by Dr. Shumway about 4 years ago.  I am still so happy with the results.  Jillian and Mary were very welcoming with every follow up visit.  Dr. Shumway has an awesome bedside manner.  He is very patient and has your interest at heart.  Thank you for such a good experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 07, 2017

Come here for my juvederm lip injections. Love the staff and the dr here, they are so nice and friendly and I get the best results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 05, 2017

Wonderful surgeon and staff, I did the silikon 1000 and I now have my mother hooked and she is here today doing the Juvaderm Ultra XC for lips, I also can't wait to do my second silikon injection,I recommend anyone to be apart of this amazing transformation that can be possible to anyone.... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 05, 2017

I am in my 50's and Dr. Shumway was referred to me by a beautiful woman in her early 30's. I am on a tight budget, but find it worth it to see Dr. Shumway for some inexpensive "help" which makes me feel years younger! The office and staff is very welcoming and professional. As I age, I will continue to seek his age-slowing help. Very kind and comfortable doctor and staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 14, 2016

First I have to say that Dr. Shumway and all of his staff have always been friendly and willing to answer any of my questions or concerns which has helped to put me more at ease. It has only been two months since my surgery at the time of this review posting so I still have a little more healing to do. One of the best decisions that I have ever made was when I decided to have Dr. Shumway perform my lower (2/3) face and circumferential (front and back) neck lift surgery. At 64 years of age I take good care of my health and fitness, as well as pride in my appearance. However, I got to the point where I felt the need to have my sagging lower face and neck (front and back) lifted surgically. Dr. Shumway is not only a gifted surgeon, he also has an exceptional eye for the type of detail required to perform the surgery in a way that yielded natural looking results with a minimal amount of scarring for me. Dr. Shumway had me come in on a weekly basis for the first 5 weeks following the surgery in order to monitor my progress, remove stitches and implement certain techniques that are available that would help to minimize swelling and/or scarring as needed in the early stages of healing. He takes pride in doing whatever is required for the best possible results. He seemed to care about my wellbeing throughout the process and is very likeable, "down to earth" and easy to talk with. For those of you who don't have a friend or relative that is available or able to give you a ride home after the surgery, stay with you for the first 24 hours and give you a ride back to the doctor's office for a follow-up the next day, Dr. Shumway's office staff will help to get you in contact with one of the "care giver" services that they highly recommend. Julie Russell was the "care giver" that I used and I feel that for the peace of mind of having someone who has emergency medical and general nursing skills which are applicable to the post-operative recovery experience is well worth the additional fee rather than having a friend or relative who might feel uncomfortable trying to handle any unforeseen situations. I found Julie to be helpful with a number of "do's" and "don'ts" as well as keeping track of my medication times, etc. She was intelligent and very easy to get along with. She brought her own food and provisions as well. She even had a blood pressure monitor if needed. I would ask for her again if I needed that service in the future. I will be shown in the "before" and "after" photos. My shaved head in the "before" photo was a personal preference at the time. However no shaving of any hair is required for any face and neck lift procedures. I would definitely use Shumway Cosmetic Surgery in the future if needed and would recommend this service to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 26, 2016

I have noticed that some creepy person is posting unethical smears about Dr. Shumway.  Let me tell you that this is a case of harassment and I won't stand for it. This is the real truth about Dr. Shumway and his wonderful staff: My daughter first came in to have her nipple reconstructed do to an infected piercing. Dr. Shumway was very professional and reconstructed her breast so now she has more self confidence about herself. I went to Dr. Shumway do to a botched tummy tuck from Dr. Kinkaid.  Dr. Shumway did a perfect reconstruction of my belly and I feel human again.  I also received lip injections that are permanent.  I have been injected with silicone 3 times and it looks fabulous. My husband got a face lift and he looks amazing with those dreamy eyes.  I am going in again to get my neck liposuction and back liposuction.  I am very pleased with the knowledge of Dr. Shumway and I would highly recommend him. I am a nurse myself and I am really picky. Don't listen to those whinny people who have nothing better to do but raise suspicion when I know for a fact Dr. Shumway is very particular and has a lot of experience. Ziad is trying to undermine Dr. Shumway...shame on you... Katherine Q 54 years old More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 20, 2016

Dr shumway has done 2 surgeries for me and I'm extremely happy with the results. His staff is amazing they all know me by first name and are very caring people that make you feel right at home.  I just went in for a post op and was offered a free facial from Heather. For a small fee I upgraded to a peel. She was fantastic very down to earth and great at her job.  Now my skin feels great too! And she sent me home with a bottle of cleanser.  They honestly care and are leaders in the industry. I recommend them to everyone More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 23, 2016

I am so happy that I chose to have Dr. Shumway preform my breast augmentation. From the moment I met him, he made me feel really comfortable, answering all my questions before I could even ask them. He was very informative about what he was going to be doing to me the day of surgery. I have no wait time every time I come into the office for an appointment, I am taken care of right away. The staff are also very sweet and helped me out when I had any questions. Oh and my results are amazing! I couldn't ask for anything better, he did a great job. My breasts look very natural, especially for how big I went. Overall he's a great surgeon and his staff are amazing as well. I will be back to him for more procedures in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 11, 2016

Dr. Shumway, and his team, could not be more professional, caring and helpful. I just had a surgical procedure done in his office and they were gentle and did an excellent job. Dr. Shumway is an excellent cosmetic surgeon and I could not have been in better hands. He even started all my IV's himself. What attention to detail!. Do yourself a favor and use this office for all cosmetic surgery and procedures! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 29, 2016

The experience I had at Dr. Shumway's office was amazing! Start to finish the staff was very accommodating and kind. My healing from surgery, check ups and all interactions were on point. Dr. Shumway is like an artist! Could not be happier. Highly recommend More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2016

I have been seeing Dr. Shumway for well over 10 years for a variety of dermatological needs. I have returned to his office time and time again because of the professionalism demonstrated by him and his staff, Dr. Shumway's expertise, and his friendly bedside manner. About two years ago, I hit perimenopause and the symptoms were not pleasant at all. I was at lthe point where it was hard to function day to day. I gained weight, despite working out (I have worked out all my life), I was depressed, severely fatigued, irritable and always had a general feeling of malaise. Prior to reaching this stage in my life I did some research about what I would do once I reached perimenopause. After weighing out the pros and cons of (synthetic) hormonal therapy and (natural) bio-identical hormonal therapy, I definitely decided on bio-identical therapy. A no brainer because bio-identical hormones are chemically equal to the hormones that our own body makes. During one of my regular visits to Dr. Shumway's office, I saw the pamphlets he had on bio-identical hormones so I quizzed him about them. He was so positive and upbeat and told me some of the same exact information that I had read about them. I couldn't be happier that he offered this program in his office. I told him to sign me up! He sent me to the lab to get my blood my hormone levels checked, and after the results came in he prescribed the right dosages that my body needed. I ordered the hormones from a compounding pharmacy that he recommended, and within 2-3 days of being on them, I felt some of my awful symptoms disappear. I was back to my old self (prior to perimenopause) after a month or so of being on bio-identicals. I felt years younger and couldn't be happier. Perimenopause was one of the more unpleasant things I have ever had to go through and feel fortunate that bio-identicals are a healthy alternative available for women, during this stage of their lives. Bio-identical's are truly a very natural way to turn back the clock, along with a good diet and exercise. If there is a fountain of youth, this is a very close remedy! Dr. Shumway can answer all of your questions about bio-identicals and work with you in terms of finding the right dosage for you. The great thing about them is that you can take them forever and the benefits are endless. I am a big fan of both Dr. Shumway and bio-identical hormones :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 29, 2016

Dr. Shumway has preformed two procedures for me. Permanent lip filler which looks very natural and an upper blepharoplasty - I love how it looks and wish I did sooner. His staff answered any/all questions and made me feel comfortable at all times. Awesome all around and have recommended his services to friends and family. Thanks! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 09, 2016

Amazing surgeon! Great staff. Highly recommended. Great location on Scripps Hospital campus Definitely will recommend this practice to my friends and family  Great exerience More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 07, 2016

I found them initially on the internet by exploring Doctors with expertise. Cherise I spoke to on the phone was absolutely wonderful and talked me into coming in to speak with Dr. Shumway. I can't say enough about the staff as Amanda is like the daughter I never had, Mary the nurse is like a sister and Emily and Sarah were amazing on my first day. Since then I have been there a few times and the follow-up and care from them is among the best. They really make you feel like you are special and work with you on everything. On Dr. Shumway, well all I can say is he is the best! He is obviously an expert at what he does but he also loves it. When you have a passion for what you do, you become the best. I feel that he is not only a wonderful Doctor but feel as he is a friend. I have enjoyed many conversations and joking around with him and their number will always be in my book. I don't really do reviews on yelp but could not resist if it will help anyone make a decision on who to see. They are not cheap but when it comes to your looks, I'm not thinking you should be looking for a discount Doctor. If you want a practice that makes you feel special, truly cares about what you look like and think and makes you feel like you are home, don't go anywhere else but here! Thanks to all of you! Doc, Kathy, Cherise, Sara, Dr. R and my sweet Amanda! Hugs, Barbara More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 01, 2016

I became aguainted with Dr Shumway about 6 years ago. I immediately knew I could trust him. His office staff is wonderful. I have had procedures done as well as a family member of mine. My handicapped sister needed special cosmetic surgery and Dr was so wonderful with her as was all the staff, especially Mary. I highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 29, 2016

I researched extensively and found Shumway  cosmetic surgery center. Dr Shumway and Dr. Renteria his Fellow associate  and staff are amazing. From Cherise who you will meet first during your consultation process.. on to Amanda and Mary who will assist you in surgery and will do your follow-up care.  I couldn't be happier with my results. I highly recommend Dr Shumway. I have silicone breast implants.. He also specializes in saline Tuba through the belly button. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 29, 2016

I have been to Dr Shumway and his awesome team twice and will go back again! The staff is professional, friendly and they really care about you and continue well after recovery. Prices are reasonable and they often have great incentives and discounts! I am so pleased with my results and it was the best decision I have ever made!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 19, 2016

Very fortunate to have found Dr Shumway and staff ! I feel when looking for a P S the bottom line has to be , the doctor has to be an expert in his field and extremely honest at the consultation as to what results are to be expected . However to find this as well as excellent bedside manner and amazing staff is kinda like Hitting the Plastic Surgery and antiaging  jackpot ! I was very nervous to make the consult to "have something done " I have been on consultations In the past at different places and was very put off by the very quick kinda generic Answers to my questions and concerns . I mean this is serious business , I'm using my savings and I want in depth Informative answers! Well it was quite different with Dr Shumway . Dr Shumway took all the time needed with me and presented different options with the associated advantages as well as drawbacks . And he's really in to his work ! I can tell as every follow up appointment has been a learning experience of things to do to look younger ,little tidbits of new research ,etc Then there is the staff . I was already prepared to go through without even really interacting with the patient coordinator and the nurses . But I am truly amazed at the staff and I feel like they really make the experience that much better ,especially with Someone as anxious as me about the whole process . For example I showed up 30 min early the day of surgery because of a misunderstanding on my part and I was cranky and close to the point of Being rude . They were just as patient with me and nice as if i was the nicest person in the world and really helped me through my anxiety about the needle for anesthesia and actually going through w the actual procedure as i was just freaking out. The aftercare as been very thorough. I never get the feeling that I'm being rushed . Kathy Shumway goes above and beyond as she has called me back at 9pm in time to let me know that yes i can go to the floor/barre ballet class the next morning ! I don't , as a rule , take the time or like to write reviews . I am not compensated to write this but feel i must as i feel grateful to Dr. Shumway and staff and want to spread the word . Oh, almost forgot ,the results .... I'm still (understandably ) swollen ..but it appears that yes I am going to look younger and prettier ! Possibly even more than I thought ...yay ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 17, 2015

I have never left a review on here before but my breast aug consultation yesterday warranted it. I had a 1pm appt and due to opening day traffic from the del mar races I didn't arrive until well after 2pm. Not only did they still see me, they took their time with me and had me try on several sets of implants until I was completely comfortable with the result. We discussed a lift and when I stated I didn't want the " lollipop" scar Dr. Shumway offered an alternative method. They also don't make you feel insecure and try to offer you procedures you don't need. The dr. Suggested we could start with the implant and see if I really needed the lift at a later date.   As for the staff they are amazing! I feel totally confident in Dr. Shumway. He has a great way of putting you right at ease and has a great sense of humor. His partner Dr. Renteria and his patient coordinator were great as well!    The only bad review he has on here is by someone that was dissatisfied with their belly liposuction. The belly is the WORST place for a woman to get liposuction! It almost always leaves tons of scar tissue which leads to lumps and bumps. That certainly isn't the Dr.'s fault.    I highly recommend Dr.Shumway!  I have had several consultations and he has by far been the best I've met with. I will update my review after my procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 23, 2015

I was so nervous finding a surgeon for a breast augmentation and I am SO GLAD I found Dr. Shumway! I am 3 years post-op and have the most amazing results! I then went back for lip augmentation to help disguise an old scar of mine and I almost cried tears of joy after seeing the work he did. His staff is SO sweet and amazing and I love them like family! Incredible bedside manner!! I wouldn't go to any other doctor now and am so pleased with the service and skill he and his staff provide. Thank you guys from the bottom of my heart!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 01, 2014

I e used him for years besides several board certifications he's a perfectionist I love using him for all of my plastic surgery a true artist More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 30, 2014

It has been about 7 weeks post op. I can't say enough good things about Dr. Shumway and his staff.  They are so inviting every time you walk through the door. They are so easy to talk to about concerns and take time to explain. I would have no hesitation in recommending Shumway Cosmetics to anyone. I am already very pleased with the procedures that I had done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 28, 2013

Last December I purchased a Groupon--$119 for 2 face micropeels.  As of a little earlier this year I'd redeemed both micropeels and am now here to sing some praises. Jillian did both of my micropeels, and I really like Jillian.  I noticed fellow Yelper Christina R. mentioned Jillian has "a very calming voice and personality."  What a nice compliment, one I very much agree with. A micropeel session lasts about an hour.  I'd describe the major events as, first, the cleansing of the skin, followed by the scraping off of some hair and surface skin (this part makes me stifle giggles because it feels like I'm being shaved), application of glycolic acid (there are at least 2 different % concentrations available, and I've tried them both), cleansing of the skin again, and then finally application of a heavy moisturizer for your fresh skin.  I'm sure I left out a few steps, but that's the gist of it in layman's terms. Application of the acid amounts to a stinging sensation for a few minutes.  Thank goodness for the little fan that's pointing at your skin for those few minutes; without it the experience would be less pleasant.  After each micropeel my skin felt particularly smooth, looked fresh, and just felt so darn clean!  I was told to expect a little redness and/or drying in the days following my appointments but didn't experience either. I'm thankful for a lot of things, and Shumway Cosmetic Surgery is one of those things.  Happy Thanksgiving! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 02, 2013

If I could give more than 5 stars I would!!! I have had two services done by Dr. Shumway and words can't desribe how pleased I am.  After consulting with multiple physicians, I made my decision.  From the instant I met the doctor and the staff I knew I had found the right place.  They even gave me two complimentary consultations because I suffer from choice anxiety and buyers remorse.  Let me tell you, I never once in the past 8 months have regretted my decision.  Dr. Shumway is an artist, I have recommended him to several people and will continue to do so.  All of the women working with him are awesome as well, I have had the most contact with Jillian, Mary, and Sarah...boy are the good! I would highly suggest this physician to anybody in the market.  A huge benefit to choosing this doctor is the fact that he doesn't completely knock you out. No general anesthesia! From initial phone call all the way through the process to the post-operative care I would choose nobody else.  You will not regret it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 27, 2013

About six months ago I came to Dr. Shumway's office for a TUBA (Trans-Umbilical Breast Augmentation) AKA "through the belly button" and I am very pleased with the results. All of his staff were helpful, friendly, took a good amount of time with me on each visit, and made me feel welcome and well taken care of. I believe Dr. Shumway is the GO-TO expert for this procedure, which is why I choose him, and I am sure glad I did. No complications, I had my surgery on a Monday and was at a wedding THAT Friday, although I did follow his direction to "take it easy" which is very important. I am shocked at how affordable his procedures are. The value WELL exceeds what you spend. After a few months I did start to experience the beginning stages of "capsular contraction" on one breast, which means my body started to form scar tissue around one of the implants, but this had nothing to do with Dr. Shumway, in fact, this is very common for any patient, it just meant my body decided it wasn't used to the implant being there and I needed to massage it more deeply, just as he instructed, which I have, and the situation has improved. Just follow his instructions and everything will turn out perfectly! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 14, 2013

Bought a groupon for here and what a deal!!!  Jillian is the aesthetician here and she is wonderful!   I can't comment on surgery, but I go in once a month for a micro-peel and come out feeling fabulous!  She uses the lowest strength on my skin and it goes very quickly and smoothly.  It's minimally painful, just a brief burning sensation for a few minutes.  She recommends these peels over micro-dermabrasion which she feels is potentially permanently harmful to your skin.   The setting is very relaxing and professional.  She answered all my questions in detail with ease.  Her hands are very steady and she has a very calming voice and personality.     Pamper yourself and try it out! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 16, 2012

I had a facial done by Jillian and it was AMAZING! My skin was so beautiful and felt amazing after the facial. I will definitely be returning for more facials! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 06, 2012

dr. shumway and his staff  are amazing....They truly care about the patient...I received  excellent care before and after my surgery...my 1st augmentation i received; my previous doctor seemed to just care about getting my money and the surgery done then out the door i went...even conveniently loosing my file when i returned for a visit after experiencing a problem...Dr Shumways office is so organized and I will be sending everyone I know to them! thank you thank you thank you Dr. Shumway!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 28, 2011

I had breast augmentation done Nov 2008.  I went from a small 36A to a full 36D.  I look at my breasts every singe day and love love love them :)  My first appt with Dr. Shumway sealed the deal.  My husband was with me and we were shown several sizes of actual implants so you could hold them and really get a good idea of what was best.  Dr. Shumway explained how to choose the correct size that would look appropriate on my body frame.  We chose silicone high profile implants.   The surgery was done on a Monday and I was back at work the following Monday.  I took pain pills the first couple of days and then other than Motrin and ICE that was all I needed after that.   The entire staff was always very caring, never rushed, answered questions ... over all a wonderful experience!!!!  Love Mary!!  Jillian was always very cheerful!!  Kathy was very through in explaining every aspect of the entire process!!  Dr. Shumway .... Amazing!!   Over all my experience was FABULOUS!!!  Thank you Dr. Shumway for giving me what I always wanted :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 03, 2010

I had a facial done at by Jillian yesterday at Dr. Shumway's office. It turned out much better than I expected (I didn't expect it to be bad, I just expected it to be the same as every other facial I've had). I have had two facials in the past at other places and although they both improved the apearance of my skin, the results were not even close to as dramatic of a change as what happened yesterday. The skin on my face is softer than it's ever been, my skin tone is already more even and my skin looks good without make up on it. I would recomend this to anyone who is looking to improve the appearance of thier skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 20, 2010

I cannot agree more with Kristin F.'s remarks.  I just came back from my first visit to Dr. Shumway's office and I must say I was very pleased with the warmth and attention all the staff including the Dr. himself gave me.  I went to receive an injectable and I felt well attended and not rushed (as with other places). I highly recommend this location for any minor to major cosmetic needs.  I will be going to Dr. Shumway for revision Rhino in about 6 months.  A Rhino performed by a different surgeon out of state.  I saw several before and after Rhino photos as well as one of his staff's revisions (from previous work done elsewhere) and I was quite pleased.  This may be silly to say but you can the staff is sincere and truly want to help you in your quest to look your best!  Cheers! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 12, 2009

I went to Dr. Shumway to have liposuction. I had a tummy tuck and liposuction performed by another doctor, and went to Dr. Shumway for my third surgery after hearing rave reviews from a friend of mine. I am no stranger to plastic surgery; I had my previous procedures on two separate occasions and had experienced recovery from those surgeries which were painful and took long for me to recover. But my surgery with Dr. Shumway was pain free, and the recovery was seamless. The results were better than those of my previous surgeon. I can only say, I wished I had gone to him sooner. I love the staff, I love Dr. Shumway, and I am ecstatic with my results. If you have any reservations about choosing Dr. Shumway, please take it from me, he is the best and you will be happy. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 28, 2014

Ok you want most recent review ;). I just had my breast augmentation thru TUBA yesterday 15th of August. And I can't believe it's not that painful at all & only have minimal bruising. I thought today, second day after my surgery bruising would be more visible, but it turn out the same as yesterday. Dr. Shumway has wicked sense of humor,he made it so easy for me to decide and feel so comfy bout the procedure, all I can say ladies listen to the Doctor he's been doing this for along time. Thanks to Dr Shumway and nurses that I had chit chat with yesterday before my surgery . Dr & staff were excellent!.. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.