Patient Reviews

Reviews for Breast Procedures Near La Jolla, CA

Reviews for Dr. Robert Shumway

Whether you're looking for dramatic changes or subtle outcomes, our La Jolla, CA cosmetic surgeon, Dr. Robert A. Shumway, can help you achieve your desired results. With his valued team of experienced medical professionals at Shumway Cosmetic Surgery, Dr. Shumway offers surgeries and treatments of the body, breast, face, and skin for men and women of all ages. He is a cosmetic surgeon who truly cares for each of his patients, listens attentively, and provides you with excellent and realistic results. Who better to ask about their personal experience with Shumway Cosmetic Surgery than from former patients themselves? In this section, we have made their reviews and testimonials available to you. These real-life stories can verify that Dr. Shumway and his impressive medical staff all understand the importance of being professional, skilled, and compassionate in the world of surgical care. In his state-of-the-art facility with a surgical suite that is accredited by the Joint Commission, Dr. Shumway performs all of his outpatient surgeries. We also offer nonsurgical cosmetic treatments, such as BOTOX wrinkle relaxer injections, chemical peels, facials, and Coherent UltraPulse CO2 laser facial skin resurfacing. Take this opportunity to see what others are saying about their transformative experiences with private consultations, successful outcomes of procedures, staff, end results, and much more through these personal testimonials from our patients.

Filter15 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from E.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 29, 2018

I had a Breast Augmentation done with Dr Shumway in December 2017. I had researched a lot of other physicians before scheduling my consultation at Shumway Cosmetic Surgery as far as reviews, prices and results and looked at many before and after pictures. I went to the consultation and met with Dr Shumway and his staff and I really am so lucky I did. After speaking with them and seeing how Dr Shumway took the time to answer all my questions I got a good feeling that he really care about how I was feeling. I knew he could tell I was a bit anxious because it is a big decision and offered more information than I had questions which helped a lot. Dr Shumway is very confident in his work and it shows when he is speaking with you. I felt so comfortable and so informed by the time I left the office that an hour later I called back to let them know I wanted to go ahead with scheduling the procedure and went ahead and paid up front. 2 weeks later I had the surgery done and was up and about the next day with minimal discomfort and I was just taking extra strength Tylenol for pain. I followed all the post op instructions his staff and Dr Shumway gave me and I healed exactly the way I was supposed to in the predicted time frame I was told. I received follow up phone calls from his amazing staff asking how I was doing or if I needed anything. I went to all my follow up appointments and everything was right on schedule. It was the best experience I have ever had and am so pleased. My procedure was absolutely perfect. My breast are amazingly even and look amazing and I have minimal scarring which have halfway disappeared since the surgery. Don't get me wrong I have had 4 children and breast fed each one so when I say he did an amazing job I am not kidding. I would definitely recommend him to anyone I know and have many times over. I am looking forward to scheduling my next procedure with his office knowing that I have nothing to worry about because I am in good hands. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2018

I went to Shumway Cosmetics Surgery for a breast revision — I had gotten a breast augmentation 3 years prior with another plastic surgeon who convinced me to go larger than I was comfortable with. Dr. Shumway and his team are not only overwhelmingly professional and kind - they are also masters in their industry, they made me feel comfortable, spent countless hours with me helping me make the right decision for me! The surgery and recovery could not have gone smoother and Dr. Shumway and his team proactively prepared me for every step of the process. I LOVE THE OUTCOME. I’ve never felt more confident in my life! Dr. Shumway’s practice truly feels like a family and they are 110% patient-centered - they are absolutely fantastic. Do yourself a favor & call them today! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2017

I thought I was going to have to have a full breast reduction. Hi to my surprise I was able to have liposuction on my breasts! I didn’t even know that was an option. Well, I did it and couldn’t be happier with the results! Thank you Dr. Shumway More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 17, 2017

Dr. Shumway did my surgery back in 2006 and still am very happy with the umbilical breast augmentation. I have no visible scars, which is great. I was am still am pleased with the results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 17, 2017

Dr. Shumway did my surgery back in 2006 and still am very happy with the umbilical breast augmentation. I have no visible scars, which is great. I was am still am pleased with the results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 10, 2017

I had breast augmentation three years ago and it’s the best decision I made for myself I had a wonderful experience and recovery and results turned out perfect. The staff are wonderful they’re kind and informative the experience from beginning to end was good I would recommend this Surgeon and staff to my friends and family! Thank you ? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 23, 2016

I am so happy that I chose to have Dr. Shumway preform my breast augmentation. From the moment I met him, he made me feel really comfortable, answering all my questions before I could even ask them. He was very informative about what he was going to be doing to me the day of surgery. I have no wait time every time I come into the office for an appointment, I am taken care of right away. The staff are also very sweet and helped me out when I had any questions. Oh and my results are amazing! I couldn't ask for anything better, he did a great job. My breasts look very natural, especially for how big I went. Overall he's a great surgeon and his staff are amazing as well. I will be back to him for more procedures in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 26, 2016

25 Yrs Old, No Kids, 5'5, 145lbs, 34B, Silicone 560cc - La Jolla, CA - I am so happy that I chose to have Dr. Shumway preform my breast augmentation. From the moment I met him, he made me feel really comfortable, answering all my questions before I could even ask them. He was very informative about what he was going to be doing to me the day of surgery. I have no wait time every time I come into the office for an appointment, I am taken care of right away. The staff are also very sweet and helped me out when I had any questions. Oh and my results are amazing! I couldn't ask for anything better, he did a great job. My breast look very natural especially for how big I went. Overall he's a great surgeon and his staff are amazing as well. I will be back to him for more procedures in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 23, 2015

I was so nervous finding a surgeon for a breast augmentation and I am SO GLAD I found Dr. Shumway! I am 3 years post-op and have the most amazing results! I then went back for lip augmentation to help disguise an old scar of mine and I almost cried tears of joy after seeing the work he did. His staff is SO sweet and amazing and I love them like family! Incredible bedside manner!! I wouldn't go to any other doctor now and am so pleased with the service and skill he and his staff provide. Thank you guys from the bottom of my heart!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 27, 2013

About six months ago I came to Dr. Shumway's office for a TUBA (Trans-Umbilical Breast Augmentation) AKA "through the belly button" and I am very pleased with the results. All of his staff were helpful, friendly, took a good amount of time with me on each visit, and made me feel welcome and well taken care of. I believe Dr. Shumway is the GO-TO expert for this procedure, which is why I choose him, and I am sure glad I did. No complications, I had my surgery on a Monday and was at a wedding THAT Friday, although I did follow his direction to "take it easy" which is very important. I am shocked at how affordable his procedures are. The value WELL exceeds what you spend. After a few months I did start to experience the beginning stages of "capsular contraction" on one breast, which means my body started to form scar tissue around one of the implants, but this had nothing to do with Dr. Shumway, in fact, this is very common for any patient, it just meant my body decided it wasn't used to the implant being there and I needed to massage it more deeply, just as he instructed, which I have, and the situation has improved. Just follow his instructions and everything will turn out perfectly! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 29, 2012

Breast Augmentation - La Jolla, CA - To have better body proportion More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.F.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 12, 2012

Incredible TUBA & BOTOX Results from Dr. Shumway - La Jolla, CA - I went to Dr. Shumway for an under-the-muscle transumbilical breast augmentation (TUBA) in March 2008, and nothing about the experience wasn't perfect; I simply listened to Dr. Shumway and did everything I needed to do to take care of myself. Also, since early 2008 I've visited Dr. Shumway's office to receive BOTOX injections in my forehead. Now I go to the office about every 4-5 months to eliminate the severe horizontal line that showed up during my early 20s, a line that I refer to as The Grand Canyon.The office is intimate and comfortable. I appreciate the variety of magazines and brochures in the waiting room, though I've never had to wait very long.Dr. Shumway is incredible, and "love" is a word I think I'd use to describe the way I feel about Mary (Surgical Assistant, EMT, Aesthetician), Jillian (Cosmetologist), and Kathy (Practice Manager). Really warm, knowledgeable people. I truly look forward to every appointment, which sounds cliché but is the truth. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 28, 2011

I had breast augmentation done Nov 2008.  I went from a small 36A to a full 36D.  I look at my breasts every singe day and love love love them :)  My first appt with Dr. Shumway sealed the deal.  My husband was with me and we were shown several sizes of actual implants so you could hold them and really get a good idea of what was best.  Dr. Shumway explained how to choose the correct size that would look appropriate on my body frame.  We chose silicone high profile implants.   The surgery was done on a Monday and I was back at work the following Monday.  I took pain pills the first couple of days and then other than Motrin and ICE that was all I needed after that.   The entire staff was always very caring, never rushed, answered questions ... over all a wonderful experience!!!!  Love Mary!!  Jillian was always very cheerful!!  Kathy was very through in explaining every aspect of the entire process!!  Dr. Shumway .... Amazing!!   Over all my experience was FABULOUS!!!  Thank you Dr. Shumway for giving me what I always wanted :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 17, 2010

I Stressed for Months and Now my Breast Augmentation is over and I'm Thrilled! - San Diego, CA - I want to share my breast augmentation story because when I was contemplating getting one I searched the Internet constantly for other people's stories and it helped me tremendously! So here it goes... After two kids, my once full C cup boobs turned into small SMALL B cups. After a year of going back and forth on whether to get a boob job or not, I finally decided to go to a consultation... More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 28, 2014

Ok you want most recent review ;). I just had my breast augmentation thru TUBA yesterday 15th of August. And I can't believe it's not that painful at all & only have minimal bruising. I thought today, second day after my surgery bruising would be more visible, but it turn out the same as yesterday. Dr. Shumway has wicked sense of humor,he made it so easy for me to decide and feel so comfy bout the procedure, all I can say ladies listen to the Doctor he's been doing this for along time. Thanks to Dr Shumway and nurses that I had chit chat with yesterday before my surgery . Dr & staff were excellent!.. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person.